Book Review – Through the Smoke by Brenda Novak

Published October 28, 2013 by The Book Momster

through the smokeRating – 4 of 5 stars

Today’s review will be short and sweet…

Admittedly, if I had not received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review it may have been a while, if ever, that I got around to reading this book.  That would have been a shame because this is my favorite book that I’ve read by Brenda Novak.   The Earl  of Druridge seeks out commoner Rachel McTavish because he thinks she has information that will help him solve the murder of his wife in a mysterious fire that he barely survived and has no memory of.  This book is a fast paced and exciting read.  There is romance, adventure, and mystery and I was hooked from the beginning.  I found that I couldn’t put it down and finished it pretty quickly.  Even though you can easily narrow down and get a list of potential killers, I still wasn’t completely sure until the ending was revealed.  The romance is sweet as we watch the struggle of people from two separate worlds try to find a way to make their relationship work.  This is the type of historical romance that I enjoy – good romance, good mystery, a little bit of suspense and action and a satisfying resolution.

