Book Review – Christmas on 4th Street by Susan Mallery

Published September 24, 2013 by The Book Momster

Christmas on 4thRating – 5 stars (I received an ARC of this as a cheerleader for Susan Mallery)

I decided a while back that there is a secret club romance authors have never told us readers about.  In this club, they get together and decide that when writing Christmas romance books they will scale back the steam considerably.  So, if you have an author like Susan who is typically 20-30 shades of gray, those shades are dialed back to about 5-10 for the Christmas book.  I don’t understand the phenomenon, but that is usually the reason I will never enjoy a Christmas romance from a favorite author as much as their other books.

I’m happy to report this book is the exception.  If you’ve read my previous posts, Two of A Kind is my favorite Fool’s Gold romance to date.  I loved Gideon and Felicia.  I suppose then it’s only natural that I’m going to love this book since it’s the romance of Gideon’s twin brother Gabriel and Noelle, owner of the Christmas store in FG.  This book gives us lots more of Gideon and Felicia (loved her freak out about cooking Thanksgiving dinner) as well as introducing us to Gabriel and Gideon’s parents. 

Gabriel is on leave due to a hand injury.  He is also suffering from some burnout.  He meets Noelle and decides to help her out in her store through Christmas – mostly to avoid spending a lot of time with his parents and especially his father (the scene where his father finally tries to connect with Gabriel – too funny yet sweet).  Noelle and Gabriel each have their own demons to overcome and are going about them in different ways.  Gabriel feels it’s best to live life alone so you’re not hurt when someone dies.  Noelle feels you should live life to the fullest because you never know when it will end.  Watching her unknowingly yet eventually winning Gabriel over to her side of thinking is sweet and perfect for a Christmas romance.

Now – why did I LOVE this book compared to other Christmas books enough to go to 5 stars?  First, the story is so good and engaging you don’t miss the steam typical of a FG romance.  Second, I love the fact that the town refuses to bow to political correctness and decides to call their tree a CHRISTMAS TREE!!  That whole section of the book was great.  Finally, Eddie and Gladys.  Do I have to say more?  Their comments at the end of the book had me laughing out loud.  Note to Susan – I will be first in line to by “The Butts of Fool’s Gold” calendar.  Just sayin’.

Fool’s Gold is the land of happy endings so of course you know how it will end, but it doesn’t matter because it’s worth the ride.  I hope you give it a try and enjoy it as much as I did.

