Book Review – Susan Mallery’s Fool’s Gold Cookbook

Published September 3, 2013 by The Book Momster

Rating – 4 of 5 stars

FG cookbookI admit that I am the person who will buy a cookbook with lots of plans to cook so many recipes in it only to wind up only trying one or two.  I plan to make a concerted effort to make several recipes from this book because they look so good and simple. Despite the fact I received this cookbook free, I would have gone out and bought it because a. It’s from Susan Mallery   b. It includes a FG novella, and c.  It looks pretty and I am one of those people who would buy it based on that as well.

Let’s start with the romance.  It’s rated G so no worries about having kids looking at the cookbook and getting an eyeful of something they shouldn’t.  I love that the characters fall in love while trying to put together this cookbook.  Continuing with the theme of this year’s books, the characters also have a past and that plays into the romance as well.  For FG fans or newbies, the back of the cookbook contains a listing of all the FG books to date and all the characters involved.  Awesome!

As for the cookbook itself, I love the way it is laid out!!!  The book is divided by the four seasons and each season is then divided into two sections based on the season (i.e. Summer is divided by Warm Weather meals and Picnics and Parties).  Each section is color coded making it easier to skip to where you want to be.  This week, I’m cooking the Seared Chicken with Lemon Spinach – it only takes about 15 minutes to cook!  The desserts in the book look divine and I’ll be testing the Classic Guiness gingerbread among others.  The back of the book contains conversion charts which I always find helpful.

Overall, Susan shares some wonderful recipes and a heartfelt story and I loved it!

