Review – Three Little Words by Susan Mallery

Published July 30, 2013 by The Book Momster

Rating – 4.5 of 5 stars (For the cover picture I’m using the one I took of my copy in Toronto.  This was taken on the Toronto Islands with the CN Tower in the background – TLW goes international!)

TLWtorHere are my three little words – I LOVED IT!  Denise Hendrix finally gets her wish as her last two single sons, Ford and Kent, finally find love.  Getting two romances in one book is just icing on this cake.  Isabel Beebe used to write Ford when he was away in the military.  He never responded – not once.  So, her letters became more of a diary as she wrote to him.  Why should she be nervous when they meet each other again?  Oh yeah – because he’s her personal diary and knows more than any man probably wants to know about a girl.  Isabel also hasn’t had much zing in her love life – she and her husband are divorced since he realized he was gay.  Ford changes that for her and shows her “what all the fuss is about.”  Their romance is sweet and I love the AHA! moment Ford has realizing he’s in love.

Secondary to Ford and Isabel, is the romance of Kent and Consuelo.  Poor Kent – he’s been around Fool’s Gold for a while now and I’m so happy he finally finds his HEA.  See – nice guys don’t always finish last!  The greatest part of this romance is that Kent and Consuelo feel they are undeserving of the other for different reasons and their path to working that out is sweet.

Other characters we know and love pop up throughout the book.  Yes, we get some Felicia (I LOVE HER) and without giving it away, her conversation made me giggle.  I love her straight-forward approach to everything.  And once again, Eddie and Gladys are back with their antics and had me in tears!!  Denise will have to join their group now that she doesn’t need to spend her time finding spouses for her children.

I’m not writing more about the story – I don’t want to spoil anything.  I loved this book and want everyone to enjoy it as much as I did.  This summer of the bodyguards has been incredible and these have been my favorite books of the entire series. 

Susan Mallery has really found a magical formula for making a great series.  Great characters, sense of community and family, and happy endings make Fool’s Gold one of my go to places every summer.  I’m just ecstatic that I don’t have to whine yet about having to wait until next year for my fix.  There will be a cookbook and a Christmas book coming out later this year.  Yay!

Sound off below – what Three Little Words do you say about this book?  Have you visited Fool’s Gold yet?  If not, have I convinced you to try it?

