Review – The Newcomer by Robyn Carr

Published July 5, 2013 by The Book Momster

Rating – 3 of 5 stars

thenewcomerI’m trying so hard to like this series as much as Virgin River, but here are where my thoughts kept going as I was reading and when I was done:

  • WHO IS THE NEWCOMER?  I don’t have any idea.  I got that The Wanderer was Coop, but I think he’s the newcomer too.  That’s what someone calls him anyway.  Which leads me to…
  • Why can’t this series just have one main story and finish it in one book!!!???  The Wanderer was allegedly the love story of Sarah and Coop.  They had more story in this book than the first one!  I think everything that happened to them in this book should have been in The Wanderer.  Conversely, everything with Mac and Gina’s relationship that began in The Wanderer should have been saved for The Newcomer.  The description on the back of this book to me is a very small part of the overall story in this book.  Which leads me to…
  • Does this series have an already determined and finite number of books?  I feel like I’m reading one continuous novel instead of succinct stand alone stories that are part of a series.  I don’t like this trend – pick a couple, write their story in one book, and then move on and give updates in future books.  Which leads me to…
  • Why is Robyn Carr writing YA stories now?? The majority of this book was teenage angst and drama mostly around Gina’s daughter and her ex.  Not to leave out Sarah’s teenage brother Landon and his girlfriend, Mac’s daughter Eve.  So much focus on the younger set that I felt like the adults were the side story.  Which leads me to…
  • Where is the sexy time??  Oh yeah, lost in the shuffle of teenage angst.  I’ve read the Virgin River series.  It can be better.  Finally, the one thing most disappointing for me…
  • The whole drama with Mac’s ex-wife left me feeling sad – especially the end of the book!  My personal opinion is romances should not end on such a melancholy note!!  Sarah and Coop were looking at some serious changes, but no idea how those are resolved either.  Guess I have to wait for The Hero to find out (hopefully).  Wonder who The Hero is?

Do you agree that books should be stand alone?  Or, do you enjoy this continuing trend of an incomplete book that requires you to read the next if you want to know the outcome?  Finally, can anyone tell me who The Newcomer is??

