Review – What the Duke Desires by Sabrina Jeffries

Published June 30, 2013 by The Book Momster

Rating – 5 stars

what duke desiresI was sad when the Hellions of Halstead Hall series ended because I had loved it so much!  Fear not, because Sabrina Jeffries has now introduced us to “The Duke’s Men” and I for one am excited about this new series.

The short version premise is Tristan and Lisette Bonnaud are the illegitimate children of a viscount.  When he unexpectedly dies, the heir and new viscount, George, casts the siblings and their mother out of their home and disowns his younger brother Dom for defending them.  Now, years later, Dom is running an investigations firm with Lisette’s help.  Tristan is unable to be in England because of charges lodged against him by George.

Our hero, Max, is the Duke of Lyons and he seeks out Dom to help him locate Tristan and decipher a cryptic message he received.  Instead, he ends up with Lisette and they take off on a journey to find Tristan and fall in love.  Their banter is funny and keeps the two of them on their toes.  It was entertaining and her steamy scenes always strike a good balance between not enough and way too much.

I loved this book.  Sabrina Jeffries writes such wonderful historic romances and this is a quick read mostly because you won’t want to put the book down once you start.  I also think this series will be similar to the Hellions because I get the feeling there is an underlying mystery that has yet to reveal itself – completely based on an offhand comment in the epilogue.  Maybe I’m wrong, but time will tell.

Sabrina Jeffries is one of my go-to authors.  When I see she has a new book, I’m getting it immediately because I know I won’t be disappointed.  I also want to point out how much I love the cover of the book.  I had the pleasure of meeting Sabrina at a book signing and she let us see two potential covers they were deciding between.  It’s very cool to see the final decision and I think it’s gorgeous.

I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did.  Give me your thoughts in the comments below.

