Review – Two of A Kind by Susan Mallery

Published June 25, 2013 by The Book Momster

Rating – 5 stars

I received an ARC of this book and this is my honest review!

Like a fine wine that gets better with age, so does Susan Mallery’s Fool’s Gold series.  Mallery has created an amazing town that gives us love stories with warmth and depth and integrates past characters in such a way that first-time readers don’t feel as if they’ve missed out.  Typically by Book 12 in any series, I feel like the author is just phoning it in.  I have doubts Mallery even owns a phone!

Two of A Kind is the book that finally gives us the story of the oh so mysterious Gideon.  Gideon was introduced in last year’s books as the new owner of the local radio station.  All we knew was that he had once spent almost 2 years in a Taliban prison before being rescued.   As excited as I was about getting his story, I did have concerns about reading about his imprisonment and torture.  I’m happy to say Mallery wrote those scenes in such a way that we get the detail we desire, but I wasn’t left feeling emotionally traumatized when it was over.  Another credit to Mallery’s superb writing skills.

Our heroine is Felicia, introduced in the last book, Just One Kiss.  I love her!  She’s too smart for her own good and socially awkward, so watching her navigate social interactions and falling in love is so much fun.  Felicia and Gideon have a past – she found him in a bar in Thailand and had a one night stand, so we’re allowed to jump right in to their story.

Gideon and Felicia are both outsiders in Fool’s Gold, but the town welcomes them and accepts them as one of their own and I loved that part of the story involves both of them coming in as outsiders and finding a sense of belonging in the town.  In the end, their story of overcoming separate obstacles to find happiness and love in the end was worth waiting for.

Yes, there is a twist in the story.  However, I admit I wasn’t surprised by it because I read the “Who’s Who in Fool’s Gold” on Susan’s website before reading this story.  That said, I actually enjoyed it because it gave a new perspective on Gideon and Felicia.  Secondary to their story are the hilarious antics of Eddie, Gladys, and Denise Hendrix.  The older generation of Fool’s Gold is starting to compete with the actual love story as the best part of the book and I LOVE IT!  I was laughing out loud in a couple of scenes.

Simply put – I loved this book.  I am recommending it to everyone I see.  If you haven’t had the pleasure of reading this book or the Fool’s Gold series, please do.  You will not be disappointed.  After all, Fool’s Gold is the land of happy endings.

6 comments on “Review – Two of A Kind by Susan Mallery

  • Two of a Kind is a fabulous follow-up to Just One Kiss! I’m giddy for Gideon sums it up perfectly! Felicia is a great character who kept me laughing at every page. The surprises I thought were great twists to the story. A summer in Fool’s Gold is in full swing. Susan Mallery keeps us smiling yet again! Perfect summer read!

  • Absolutely loved Two of a Kind! I love how not only do you hear about Felicia and Gideon but get to revisit old friends from Fool’s Gold!

  • Felicia is my new favorite character in Fool’s gold! The technical dialogue for Felicia was hilarious! Looking forward to “Three Little Words”!

  • I want to move to FG and join the ladies and new men and bring my family and friends for the loving environment and happiness it represents.

  • Comments are closed.

