Review – Brenda Jackson’s A Brother’s Honor

Published June 7, 2013 by The Book Momster

I won this from a Goodreads giveaway and this is my honest review.  I received the “Advance Uncorrected Proof” and believe me it lives up to that title.  I only hope all the errors I noted throughout the book were corrected for the final version that hit the shelves.

The book had a lot of promise.  Three brothers reunited and back in the same town after their grandfather’s death to run his company while determining who is trying to take the company down and try to free their father who is in prison for killing their mother 15 years earlier.

I figured when I started reading this that each brother would eventually have their own book.  What I didn’t realize until I got close to the end is that only one of the two mysteries above would resolve in this book.  Apparently, the quest to free Dad is going to continue til the end.  Ugh – and it’s going to be a YEAR until the next one is out.

Overall, this book was too slow and dragged out.  It takes a while for the story to really pick up and get some steam.  I can usually finish a book in a day or two at most – this one took me 4.  I almost felt like the author couldn’t decide whether to write a romance or a mystery and so both fell a little short.  It’s as if both stories were playing background roles when there should be a focus – either focus on romance with the mystery in the background or vice versa.  I really liked both Jace and Shanna and think they were great characters, but wish we’d had more interaction between the two.

I’ve read Brenda Jackson before and have always enjoyed her books, but this one didn’t work for me.  Will I read the next book?  Probably, only because now I have to see the end of their father’s mystery.  Would I recommend this book?  Maybe – I recommend if you want to try it wait til all the books are out – assuming there are only three.

Rating – 3 out of 5 stars.

